Maritime Awards Society of Canada


Scholarship Awards

Partner Universities
University of Victoria Crest
University of Calgary Crest
Dalhousie University Crest
Memorial University of Newfoundland Crest

The MASC Scholarship Program, the central initiative of the Society, seeks to provide scholarships at the graduate level to Canadian students pursuing an ocean-related subject.

Annual scholarships are awarded at the University of Victoria, University of Calgary, Dalhousie University, and Memorial University of Newfoundland. Students interested in these awards should consult these links. Applications and adjudication are administered by each university.

Some of the Masters and Ph.D. theses which have been supported by the MASC Scholarship Program include work on: forging a Canadian naval identity in the post-WWII world; coastal zone natural resource management; improved global positioning systems (GPS) for maritime navigation; and fisheries conservation and enforcement issues. The linked pages for each university listed here show past recipients and their topic areas.